The popular social networking website Facebook is a great source of communication that lets people stay in touch with each other. At the same time, it is a big waste of time for the addictive folks. Facebook has turned out to be the most powerful tool compared to other platforms that make you stay in touch with your friends and more. If you’re thinking of deactivating your Facebook account finally then, you’ve landed at the right place. There might be numerous reasons for a person to delete or deactivate their Facebook account.
If you get a feeling like you had grabbed enough out of Facebook then, the obvious step is to remove your profile permanently from the social media. Facebook has been serving billions of people across the world since its inception into the social networking market. On Facebook, one can have a great attachment to messages, pokes, latest updates, ads, and much more. People who have immensely addicted to the Facebook might feel as if they are cut off from the world if they are asked to stop using their account.
Still, if you feel Facebook is wasting a lot of your precious time then, it’s time to delete your Facebook account permanently. There are two options for the users to remove their Facebook account. One is to deactivate the Facebook account and the second option is to delete Facebook account forever. Irrespective of the reason for your disinterest on Facebook here’s is a detailed guide on how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account permanently. Check it out!
Deleting Vs Deactivating Facebook Account
Want to know the difference between deleting and deactivating a Facebook account? There is a definitely certain variation between these two terms regarding the Facebook account. A Facebook user has two different options to remove their Facebook profile from the social network. One is deactivation and the other is deletion. What happens when you deactivate or delete a Facebook account? Understand the difference through the below points:
Deactivating Facebook Account
- By deactivating your Facebook account then, you will be able to do the following:
- One can reactivate their Facebook account anytime based on your choice.
- None of them will be able to see your Facebook timeline. Even if they search for you, your profile might not be opened for others.
- Some of the messages that you’ve sent to your friends or other persons will remain visible even after the account deactivation.
- Facebook stores your account information such as friends and your interests if you reactivate the account.
Deleting Facebook Account
If you select the option as deleting Facebook account then, it is considered as permanent account removal. You need to confront the following consequences by deleting your account.
- Once you make a request for your account deletion then, Facebook will delay it after some days. If you try to login to your deleted account within the grace period then, your request regarding the account deletion will be canceled.
- After finishing the grace period, you can’t regain the access to your Facebook account.
- Facebook takes a total of 90 days for deleting the data permanently which is stored in the backup systems.
- Your information might not be accessible on Facebook during this period.
- The things that remain active include your messages.
- The log record copies will endure in the database of Facebook. However, they get disassociated from the personal identifiers.
In a simplified form, deactivating is a cool way of coming out of your Facebook account for a certain time period. On the other hand, deleting it is removing your Facebook account permanently. So, think before deleting your Facebook profile and proceed with it.
Deactivate Facebook Account – Here’s the Process
If you are seeking to deactivate your Facebook account then, you need to follow the simple steps provided below.
- First of all, open your Facebook profile from your device’s browser.
- At the top right corner of the Facebook page, you can find a downward arrow.
- Just tap it and a list of options appear on the screen.
- You need to hit Settings option.
- On the next page, you can see a set of options listed towards the left-hand corner of the page.
- Tap General >> Manage Account >> you can then see a link that says ‘Deactivate your account.’
- Just tap that link and on the next page, you need to re-enter your Facebook password.
- Lastly hit the Continue button to confirm deactivating your Facebook account.
In order to reactivate your account once the deactivation is done, you need to simply log into your Facebook account using the same old email id and password. You can then regain the access to your Facebook profile. From then, you can start using it like before.
How to Delete Facebook account
Even if you deactivate your Facebook account, some of the data related to you will be kept on hold. The information that it has gathered will remain untouched. If you want to get rid of the Facebook term permanently from your life then, the option that needs to choose is ‘delete’. Before taking a big step of deleting your account, just think a while before doing so. Facebook takes at least 90 days for processing your permanent account deletion request.
As we all know, Facebook is a popular social media platform that shows you a plethora of latest updates, job news, and more. You may miss some of the memorable events and other upcoming events organized by your friends. If you delete your Facebook account, you might get a rift between your relations and communications. Just keep in mind all these things and proceed further. Follow the steps provided below to delete your Facebook account permanently.
- For that, you need to go to General Account Settings.
- At the bottom of this page, you can find a link that says ‘Download a copy’ of your Facebook data.
- You can then select the option ‘Start My Archive’.
- It is a crucial step that a Facebook user must follow before heading towards account deletion.
- That particular downloaded file comprises of your Facebook profile information.
- Once you are done with securing your data, you are then ready to delete your account
- Keep in mind that all your sent messages will endure appearing like before even the traces of your account vanish.
- To delete your Facebook account permanently then, go to the Facebook’s Delete Account Page‘ using this link.
- You can then tap the button ‘Delete my account’.
- Just enter your password and type the random code shown on that page.
- You can then tap OK Button.
- That’s it! Your Facebook account will be deleted permanently after the completion of 90
Final Words: These are the two simple steps that help the Facebook users to delete or deactivate their accounts permanently from the social network. For more queries or doubts, drop them in the comments section at the end of this page.